2 min read
Physical Touch

Physical Touch

In my previous posts I have written about quality time, words of affirmation, receiving gifts and acts of service. The last of The 5 Love Languages, I will be discussing, is physical touch.

A love language is how you best accept love from someone else. A person’s whose dominant love language is physical touch feels the most loved when their partner touches them nonsexually.

7 Nonsexual Physical Touches

1. Hand on Knee

2. Hand to Hand

3. Hugging

4. Kissing (forehead, cheek, and lips)

5. Back Massage

6. Arm around shoulder

7. Hand to Face

Do not underestimate the volumes your simple touch can speak to your significant other. This touch makes them feel loved, valued and secure.

Be aware of how you can fill your spouses love bucket with their favorite love language.

Usually, people express love to people the way they want to be shown love. If your partner always uses words of affirmation then most likely that is their primary love language. If you are not sure have each of you take the test on The 5 Languages website.

After determining each other’s primary love languages you do not only have to utilize that specific one. It is still important to try and mix it up. However, those should be used most frequently. It is not selfish to express your emotional needs to one another.

Although you should be aware of how much you give and how much you take. For your ultimate goal is to be a giver/servant.

Only Jesus Can Satisfy You

However, it is also important to remember that your spouse is not there to satisfy you, that is only fulfilled by Jesus Christ our Savior.

Jesus Satisfies

Jesus Satisfies

Psalms 63:1 says, “You, God, are my God, earnestly I seek you; I thirst for you, my whole being longs for you, in a dry and parched land where there is not water”.

I’m not sure about you, but every time I try to have anyone or anything besides God fill my needs I am very disappointed.

Therefore, I encourage you to diligently pursue our God in prayer and reading of his word. Subsequently, treat your spouse as Jesus loved the Church, whom he died for (Ephesians 5: 22-33).

If you would like to join a church that offers this information within a small group you can visit Veritas Church in Fairfield, Ohio or connect with people on the Inbound Church.